Dieter Roth and my Dream

I found a man who likes multiples like myself. One of Dieter Roth’s many pieces is a series of every single building in Reykjavik in the 70’s. Not only did he shoot every building, but he shot them all each twice, once in the summer and once in the winter. There is a total of 30,000 images on slides. He exhibited the piece most recently at his retrospective at the MOMA in 2004. You can check out the website and click on 1970. Once you get to his 1970 works you can see the one with 8 projectors if you want to see a picture of the piece.

Well, if he can do it, so can I! I think I am only shooting 9,000 images  of Germantown Avenue. But this gives me an idea of a new presentation as well. I am trying to figure out what sort of presentation would be best.

Dieter Roth at 35 in Rhode Island

Dieter Roth at 35 in Rhode Island

So to give a bit more information, Dieter Roth adopted Iceland as a second home. So he is well thought of here. The museum I am volunteering at called Nylo, supposedly owns this slide project and hopefully in the not too distant future will show it for the public. I can’t wait.

My dream is to see this piece.

Here is a picture of an architect who likes multiples. I took this picture not too long ago in the new neighborhood called Hvarf.

One response to “Dieter Roth and my Dream

  1. love the idea of you taking 9000 images of g-town ave. that means you will have to be in philly for a while? Oh and yes, it sounds like an awesome project too. and by the way your ads for the gallery showing are awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

